Air New Zealand (NZ)

Air New Zealand
Air New Zealand
Airline Code NZ Website

Reservations 1-800-262-1234

User Photos

36 Travelers Photos

Airline Overview

The country's national airline and flag carrier, Air New Zealand (NZ) was founded in 1940 as Tasman Empire Airways Limited, or TEAL. It is a member of the Star Alliance. The airline operates hubs at Auckland Airport (AKL), Wellington International Airport (WLG) and Christchurch International Airport (CHC). Including its regional subsidiaries (Air Nelson, Eagle Airways and Mount Cook Airline) it flies to about 52 destinations, including 26 international destinations in 15 countries in Oceania, Asia, Europe and North America. It also has codeshare agreements with more than 20 other carriers. Air New Zealand offers four classes of service, though not all are available on all aircraft and routes: Business Class, Premium Economy Class, Economy SkyCouch and Economy Class.

Aircraft Summary

KEYWidebody Jets

Boeing 777-200ER (772)
Seats:26 Business Premier246 Economy40 Premium Economy
Boeing 777-300 (773)
Seats:44 Business Premier244 Economy54 Premium Economy
Boeing 787-9 (789) Layout 1
Seats:18 Business Premiere263 Economy21 Premium Economy
Boeing 787-9 (789) Layout 2
Seats:27 Business Premiere215 Economy33 Premium Economy

KEYNarrowbody Jets

Airbus A320 (320) Domestic
Seats:171 Economy
Airbus A320neo (320)
Seats:165 Economy
Airbus A321neo (321)
Seats:214 Economy


ATR 72-500
Seats:68 Economy
Bombardier Q300
Seats:50 Economy